Learning Sixteen Thousand Items

It’s about time I breathed some life into this blog and also got back to work on language learning.

Below is a chart that I will use to track my progress in the four languages I’m learning now. By the end of this year, I want to turn these four bars from mostly red to entirely green. To accomplish that, I’ll have to learn individual words and phrases and periodically refresh them with tests using my Before You Know It language learning program and the Kanjibox program for learning Japanese writing.

This graph won’t track any progress I make with grammar, but vocabulary is much easier to track. Besides, if I have the words, I can often communicate (sort of) even while I’m still learning the grammar. I just have to be willing to look and sound like an idiot. No problem there!

I’m not giving myself credit for prior learning. That is, I’m starting with a new user ID for BYKI as if I didn’t already know some vocabulary. This will force review from scratch and also give me the feeling of making progress even on days when I only have enough energy to review some of what I learned previously. Or to put it another way, I’m cheating on some days. 🙂

    Leave a Reply

